The Journal I Did Not Keep: New and Selected Writing

The Journal I Did Not Keep: New and Selected Writing

English | June 25, 2019 | ISBN: 1612197477 | EPUB | 448 Pages | 0.6 MB


From the award-winning New Yorker writer comes this essential volume spanning almost six decades. Admired for "a voice unlike any other" (Cynthia Ozick) and a style both "wry and poignant" (The New Yorker), Lore Segal is a master literary stylist.

This volume collects some of her finest work-including new and uncollected writing-and selections from her novels, stories, and essays.

From her very first story-which appeared in The New Yorker in 1961-to today, Segal's voice has been unique in contemporary American literature: Hilarious and urbane, heartbreaking and profound, keen and utterly unsentimental.

Segal has often used her own biography as both subject and inspiration: At age ten she was sent on the Kindertransport from Vienna to England to escape the Nazi invasion of Austria; grew up among English foster families; and eventually made her way to the United States. This experience was the impetus for her first novel, Other People's Houses, and one that she has revisited throughout her career.
From that beginning, Segal's writing has ranged widely across form as well as subject matter. Her flawless prose and light touch belie the rigor and intelligence she brings to her art-qualities that were not missed by the New York Times reviewer who pointedly observed, "though it was not written by a man . . . Segal may have come closer than anyone to writing The Great American Novel."

With this volume comes a long-awaited career retrospective of an important American Writer.


[Fast Download] The Journal I Did Not Keep: New and Selected Writing

Related eBooks:
The World in Winter (Penguin Worlds)
Troilus and Cressida (Penguin Classics)
Murder in the Crooked House
The No Plot? No Problem! Novel-Writing Kit
The Book of Air and Shadows
The Floating Feldmans
Tumble Hitch: A Novel About Life in Science
Jack Campbell - Relentless
Crystal Dragon: Book Two of the Great Migration Duology
Alex Laurin - Dark Soul Trilogy
Buckley Jr., William F. - Blackford Oakes 06 - See You Later Alligator
Copyright Disclaimer:
This site does not store any files on its server. We only index and link to content provided by other sites. Please contact the content providers to delete copyright contents if any and email us, we'll remove relevant links or contents immediately.