Critical Perspectives on Michael Finnissy

Critical Perspectives on Michael Finnissy: Bright Futures, Dark Pasts

2019 | ISBN: 1138491977 | English | 402 Pages | PDF | 8 MB

The composer and pianist Michael Finnissy (b. 1946) is an unmistakeable presence in the British and international new music scene, both for his immeasurable generosity as prolific composer for many different types of musicians, major advocate for the works of others, and performer and conductor who has also been a driving force behind ensembles; he was also President of the International Society for Contemporary Music from 1990 to 1996. His vast and enormously varied output confounds those who seek easy categorisations: once associated strongly with the 'new complexity', Finnissy is equally known as composer regularly engaged with many different folk musics, for working with amateur and community musicians, for a long-term engagement with sacred music, or as an advocate of Anglo-American 'experimental' music. Twenty years ago, a large-scale volume entitled Uncommon Ground: The Music of Michael Finnissy gave the first major overview of the output of any 'complex' composer. This new volume brings a greater plurality of perspectives and critical sensibility to bear upon an output which is almost twice as large as it was when the earlier book was published. A range of leading contributors - musicologists, composers, performers and others - each grapple with particular questions relating to Finnissy's music, often in ways which raise questions relating more widely to new music, and provide theoretical foundations for further of study both of Finnissy and other composers.


[Fast Download] Critical Perspectives on Michael Finnissy

Related eBooks:
Listen to This: Miles Davis and Bitches Brew
Composing Processes and Artistic Agency
Playing the Cello, 1780-1930
Turbo-folk Music and Cultural Representations of National Identity in Former Yugoslavia
Sonic Bodies: Reggae Sound Systems, Performance Techniques, and Ways of Knowing
The Last Waltz: The Strauss Dynasty and Vienna
Schubert's Lieder and the Philosophy of Early German Romanticism
Composing for the Jazz Orchestra
Library of Musicians' Jazz fake book
Unleashed: The Story of Tool
The Palgrave Handbook of Musical Theatre Producers
Guthrie Govan - Creative Guitar 1 2
Copyright Disclaimer:
This site does not store any files on its server. We only index and link to content provided by other sites. Please contact the content providers to delete copyright contents if any and email us, we'll remove relevant links or contents immediately.